RSS Feed

Not Pretty, But It Eats Good….

veggies and tempeh

In the midst of my low carb related Festival of Whining, it occurred to me that I had an ace in the hole. A few years ago, my neighbor (and friend) Melissa casually passed on a recipe for a Thai-esque peanut sauce. She recommended it as a dip for veggies, but I had also used it as a sauce for stir-fries and to dress up plain pieces of meat.  now realize that what she gave me was the key to my low-carb dreams.

Today for lunch, I cut up an assortment of vegetables from the Farmers Market, a chunk of tempeh, and stir fried it all. I added a glorious glop of Melissa’s Peanut Sauce, and it was wonderful. The sauce, with a substitution of sweetener for sugar, is extremely diabetic-friendly, and this mixture was so delicious that I didn’t even miss the rice. It’s not particularly photogenic, but then neither is ratatouille, another hideously delicious dish.

I stir-fried a handful of trimmed green beans, a baby eggplant, half a zucchini, a sliced onion and two cloves of garlic. If you have different vegetables on hand, or hate any of those mentioned, use different vegetables; if you hate tempeh, use tofu or chicken…or go vegetarian. Stir fry whatever you choose in about a tablespoon of olive oil and top with enough Peanut Sauce to coat. This is a great way to get most, if not all of your vegetable servings (along with a healthy serving of protein) in in a most un-plain, un-punitive manner.

Melissa’s Peanut Sauce

(I always double the recipe and make it in a food processor so I don’t have to cut up the ginger or the garlic).

1. 1/2 cup crunchy peanut butter (smooth works too; its just a thinner sauce)

2. 2 tablespoons soy sauce

3. 1 teaspoon white sugar (I use a packet of Equal)

4. 2 drops hot pepper sauce (like Tabasco or Frank’s)

5. 1 clove garlic, minced

6. 1 inch (app.) fresh ginger, peeled and minced

7. 1/2 cup water

About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

4 responses »

  1. Kitchen Goddess

    I love the sound of the peanut sauce 🙂

    Reply
  2. Ann,

    Been trying to find the “special” warm peanut salad dressing for the wife. Nary a storebought version has even come close she says. Then you post this…… Perfect.

    Of course you might want to use it on cooked stuff one day and salad another.

    Was the use of ‘unpunitive’ a test? That is so not even a word. Lawyers……..

    Reply
    • I hope this works – I actually like it much spicier than the original recipe, but it works either way. I like it thinned on a salad, as a dip…I just like it.

      You’re right, “unpunitive” is not a word, but it was not a test. It was merely a blindingly creative display of wordsmithery. (Also unlikely to appear in a dictionary…).

      Reply

Leave a Reply

