RSS Feed

Cavatippi

Cavatippi

While I was cooking this dish, I was trying to think of a song to celebrate my love of Cavatippi pasta. When you have played in pit orchestras and have a lot of gay friends, the mind turns naturally to the musical. I tried “Cav’tippi, I just cracked a box of cav’tippi…” sung to the tune of “Maria” from Westside Story. It didn’t scan well, so I bastardized a little Rogers & Hammerstein: “Caaaavatippi where the cheese sticks neatly in the twists….”

Whilst I was singing, I was making this really good, fresh thing. I found the recipe in this month’s “Cooking Light,” and was pleased to see that it included pasta, but had enough vegetables in it that the carb content was fine for us. We are trying to work some carbs back into our diet, but even in “healthy cooking” cookbooks and recipes it isn’t uncommon to find recipes with a carb count above (gulp) 70. In order for us to eat something that high in carbs it would have to involve enough fiber content to make a small woven mat, and we’d have to walk to a neighboring state after dinner.

The recipe also calls for what is freshest and best right this minute, and all of the produce I used was from my last trip to the Farmer’s Market. The original recipe, which is designed for “quick cooking” calls for purchased chopped onion and bottled garlic, but I was cooking for delicious and not the land speed record.It would have been okay, but it would be sad to use beautiful fresh zucchini, corn and tomatoes, and…bottled garlic.

Mid-dinner, Rob said “I need to tell you something about this dinner.” I braced myself. “It’s awesome” he said. What more can I say? Everything’s up to date in Cavatippi?

Cavatippi with Bacon and Summer Vegetables

(adapted from the August, 2009 “Cooking Light” Magazine)

Makes 4 2-cup servings

Per serving: 32.6 grams of carbohydrate; 4 grams fiber; 28.6 Net Carbs

  1. 8 ounces uncooked cavatipppi (the recipe calls for regular pasta, but it would be healthier with a higher fiber variety)
  2. 4 slices center-cooked bacon, chopped
  3. 2 teaspoons olive oil
  4. 1 cup chopped onion
  5. 1 teaspoon minced garlic
  6. 1 medium zucchini cut in quarters and sliced 1/4 inch thick
  7. 1 cup fresh corn kernels (about 2 ears)
  8. 1 pint grape tomatoes
  9. 1/2 cup shaved (or grated) Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese
  10. 1/4 cup small, fresh basil leaves (I used larger leaves, but cut them into chiffonade)
  11. salt and pepper to taste

1. Cook pasta according to package instructions

2. While pasta is cooking, cook bacon in large skillet over medium-high heat until crisp, about 5 minutes. Remove bacon from pan with slotted spoon, leaving drippings in pan; add oil to pan. Add onion and garlic to pan and sautee 2 minutes. Add zucchini, cook 3 more minutes, stirring occasionally. Stir in corn and tomatoes, cook 5 more minutes, or until tomatoes burst, stirring occasionally. Add pasta to vegetable mixture, stir, and cook 1 minute. Remove from heat and add bacon, cheese and basil; stir to combine. Serve with extra cheese as an option.

About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

12 responses »

  1. This sounds really good. I have most the ingrediments from the farmer’s market today. Perhaps I will try it soon.

    Reply
  2. Ann,

    Congrats on the milestone. See, guys know how to do it too.

    “Mid-dinner, Rob said “I need to tell you something about this dinner.” I braced myself.”

    Thats the boy equivalent of “We have to talk……”

    Reply
  3. that looks awesome, Ann. Your picture-taking is excellent (and here we thought you weren’t confident…)

    Pit orchestras and gay friends= musicals….hilarious!

    I would have been in the pit orchestra, except I was on stage, usually. Those were the fun days at OHS.

    Reply
  4. Captivating Cavatippi

    Made it tonight. 4/5 Grahams approved (5th was not present). I had to use elbow macaroni since that is what I had and I substituted green beans for zuch, which was fine, even delicious. I also opted to pour off about 1/2 of bacon drippings before I sauteed veggies and added back just a little as I was cooking.

    Finally, it was suggested that white beans could make a fine substitute for the corn if one was so inclined.

    Verdict: Yummy with lots of possible variations.

    Reply
    • Duh, you did try it. I’m glad you liked it – it would actually be better for us health-wise with the beans…we’ll check it out while the veggies are still good.

      Reply
  5. Ooh that sounds lovely.

    Reply
  6. Try singing “Cavatippi” set to the call of the fairies when they summon Iolanthe in Gilbert and Sullivan’s operetta of the same name. It really works quite well and has a nice melancholy air to it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

