RSS Feed

Remember

Remember the birds and squirrels, who will love to have a slightly used tree in the yard hung with seeded suet balls and stale bread ends.

Remember to be where you are at any given moment, even if it’s stressful, taking in everything that’s around you as if it was the last time you’d have the chance.

Remember to catch the eye of the guy collecting cans and bottles to return for cash, and wish him a Merry Christmas.

Remember all the Christmases past, even if it’s a little sad, because those memories are part of who you are today, and the people and places that are not physically with you live on in you.

Remember to take a picture of your baby, youngest grandchild or cat playing with joyous abandon in the discarded paper and ribbon.

Remember to watch your favorite Christmas movie, no matter how corny, and don’t be ashamed to cry at the end.

Remember not to burn the roast beef, but if you do, remember that many of us like it a little crispy.

Remember to send a prayer, or good rays, or simply gratitude to the men and women who are far away from home serving our country while we are safe at home.

Remember to take some time to be alone, no matter how busy you are, to smell the tree, walk in the snow, or read a good book so that you can really appreciate the world when you come back to it.

Remember that your children love your hand on the back of their head, and the fact that you bring them soup when they’re sick just as much as they love whatever you wrapped and put under the tree. In the end, they’ll love it more.

Remember that I am grateful for all who read this blog, and that I wish you the happiest, calmest, most beautiful holidays you could possibly have.

About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

8 responses »

  1. This meditation stuff is paying off I think…………

    At least one house on Forest street will be lit up with love tonight.

    Send us your pictures, we will send ours………….

    Reply
  2. Merry Christmas Ann! I’m so happy 2009 developed a new friendship for me! Despite the colds that seem to be taking over in our house my children are so excited for Christmas and today their Grandpa makes his once a year trek from GR to stay over night. It made me smile to hear THAT be what they are excited about today…I, personally, need to get in the kitchen and WRAPPING. I’ve not wrapped one single gift. It’ll be a busy day. Thanks for the moment of reflection before beginning.

    Reply
    • Right back at you. 🙂 I hope your wrapping got done, that all of you (and Grandpa) have a fabulous Christmas, and that you can keep a little peace and calm in your heart as you get EVERYTHING done.

      Reply
  3. Because of my resolution to do less at holiday time this year, which this year I actually kept–I had time to read this! This was lovely and I hope you and your family have a peaceful Christmas.

    Reply
  4. Thanks for this…and all your blog posts this year. It was a wonderful year for me and one of the highlights was getting to spend an evening with you over some wonderful food. Thanks for your continuing friendship. Something good that came out of my retail days at Hudsons back in the 80s!

    Reply
    • You are so welcome, and I hope there are more meals together in the years to come, at my end of the earth or yours. As for Hudson’s, we are also both pretty good sweater-folders, too…..

      Reply

Leave a Reply

